Now available: 12 eBooks from James M. Cain!

We're proud to be releasing 12 novels from James M. Cain as eBooks.

Cain was one of the most important authors in the history of crime fiction. Born in Maryland, he became a journalist after giving up on a childhood dream of singing opera. After two decades writing for newspapers in Baltimore, New York and the Army—and a brief stint as the managing editor of The New Yorker—Cain turned to fiction, penning a slim novella, The Postman Always Rings Twice (1934) that became one of the most controversial bestsellers of its day.

A tightly-wound tale of passion, murder and greed, it remains one of the foremost examples of American noir writing, and set the tone for Cain’s next few novels. His writing became more literary after World War II, and he wrote prolifically until his death.

Here are the books currently available anywhere that eBooks are sold: 

  • Cloud Nine
  • Galatea
  • Jealous Woman
  • Mignon
  • Past All Dishonor
  • Rainbow's End
  • Sinful Woman
  • The Enchanted Isle
  • The Institute
  • The Magician's Wife
  • The Moth
  • The Root of His Evil

You can find the books at this link. 

Tags: James M. Cain

Visit The Mysterious Bookshop, the oldest mystery bookstore in the country.