Stained Glass by William F. Buckley, Jr.

Stained Glass by William F. Buckley, Jr.

Click the image above to zoom in

Blackford Oakes is sent to Germany to stop a righteous nationalist from starting a world war

When the Wehrmacht took Warsaw, Alex Wintergrin led the charge. But as soon as Hitler’s army occupied the Polish capital, the charismatic young count disappeared, and he was assumed to be dead. But that couldn’t have been further from the truth. Wintergrin had ditched his uniform and turned himself in to Polish security forces, with whom he shared every scrap of Hitler’s plans for the invasion. He then waited out the war in Norway, fighting the Germans with the resistance. Now the fighting may be over, but for Wintergrin, a new battle has just begun.

When he starts inciting East Germans to throw off the yoke of Soviet oppression, the USSR threatens to roll its tanks across Europe. In order to keep another war from breaking out, the CIA must send in the charming devil Blackford Oakes to talk sense into Wintergrin—and if necessary, kill him.

Stained Glass is the 2nd book in the Blackford Oakes Mysteries, but you may enjoy reading the series in any order.

“William Buckley has written an intelligent, urbane and witty suspense story. . . . There is always the possibility that he just might be disguising still-buried facts as fiction.” —Chicago Tribune

“Another Buckley spy thriller—even better than his first . . . Beguiling.” —The Washington Star

“Cuts closer to the bone than le Carré has ever cut.” —The New Republic

“Delightful reading for the spy thriller fan.” — 

Buy this book from one of the following online retailers:

Buy from Amazon

Buy from iTunes

Buy from Barnes & Noble

Buy from Google

Buy from Kobo

Click here to find more books and exclusive content