Gar Anthony Haywood

Gar Anthony Haywood

Gar Anthony Haywood (b. 1954) is the Shamus award-winning author of the Aaron Gunner mysteries. Born in Los Angeles, he spent over a decade as a computer technician before first publishing fiction in the 1980s. Influenced by a love for the Los Angeles mysteries of Ross Macdonald, he wrote Fear of the Dark (1987), winning the Shamus award for best first novel and introducing the tough-nosed L.A. detective Aaron Gunner.

Haywood continued the Gunner series through the bestselling All the Lucky Ones Are Dead (2000), and in between Gunner novels produced the two-book Loudermilk pair of serio-comic mysteries. In an effort to broaden his fan base, Haywood wrote two standalone thrillers, Man Eater (2003) and Firecracker (2004), under the pen-name Ray Johnson, finding critical acclaim for both. He has also written for newspapers and television, including an adaptation of the Dennis Rodman autobiography, Bad As I Wanna Be. His most recent novels are Cemetery Road (2010) and Assume Nothing (2011). You can find his website at this link

“Haywood has a good ear for the sour voice of the true private eye and the sense of tired hopelessness of the underclass they have always served. One hopes to see more of Gunner.” - Publishers Weekly

“A writer who has always belonged in the upper echelon of American crime fiction.” - Booklist 

“Haywood writes about people who have enough sensitivity to be hurt, and enough complexity to do wrong and have to live with the consequences.” - Los Angeles

Tags: Gar Anthony Haywood