William F. Buckley

William F. Buckley, Jr. (1925-2008) was an author and political commentator. In 1955, he founded the influential conservative magazine National Review. Buckley also hosted the popular television show Firing Line and wrote a twice-weekly syndicated newspaper column. He is the author of more than 50 books, including titles on history, politics, and sailing, as well as a series of spy novels featuring CIA agent Blackford Oakes.

“Rollickingly ribald . . . Consistently witty.” —Los Angeles Times Book Review

“A breezy adventure . . . Smartly plotted . . . A spy novel that knows how to tango.” —The Village Voice

“A mixture of wit, charm and audaciousness that could have been blended only in the Buckleyan brainpan. I devoured his novel in a single sitting.” —The New York Times

“Some of the best spy fictions in print.” —UPI.com

“Buckley brings us face to face with possibilities lurking behind our real headlines.” —San Francisco Chronicle on See You Later, Alligator

“Buckley has a genuine talent for fiction.” —John Kenneth Galbraith, author of American Capitalism

“Buckley’s main purpose is to entertain; he’s erudite and stylish and witty and sly.” —The Village Voice

Blackford Oakes series order:

  • Saving the Queen (1976)
  • Stained Glass (1979) 
  • Who's on First (1980)
  • Marco Polo, If You Can (1982) 
  • The Story of Henri Tod (1984)
  • See You Later, Alligator (1985)
  • High Jinx (1986) 
  • Mongoose, R.I.P. (1987)
  • Tucker's Last Stand (1990)
  • A Very Private Plot (1994)

Tags: William F. Buckley, Jr.

Books by this author